Kickoff to Summer Blog Hop

It’s the beginning of June, school is almost out, and I’m ready to start summer. What better way to begin than with a blog hop with my critique partners? JQ Rose, WS Gager, Joselyn Vaughn and I are ready to spill the beans about our summer plans–reading and otherwise–and throw in some freebies while we’re at it.

What have I got planned for summer? Loads, let me tell you. For starters, I want to hang out with my kids. DH just strung up the hammock on the porch and it’s big enough for two. I’ll park my favorite wicker chair next to it and away we go. What better place to get started on all those books on our TBR piles?

How about some gardening? This is the year I actually want to fine-tune that salsa recipe so that I no longer have to tout my motto as “Never the same taste twice!”

Finish that craft with the kids! We bought the supplies on spring break and actually cut out some of the fabric. Now’s the time to get those cute bean-bag frogs made.

Enjoy the water! From Lake Michigan to the Muskegon River to our local lake and the even more local blow-up pool in the backyard I want to spend some time in the not-so-deep blue.

I could go on and on about what I want to do. I could go on and on about what I have to do…mow the lawn, weed the flowers, rototill the garden. But let’s keep it simple. If I can spend some quality time with my family, read a few good books, and make use of the good stuff that comes out of my garden, I’ll be happy.

How about you? Leave a comment below on your summer plans–reading or otherwise–and you’ll be entered to win. I’ll pick two winners–one for a free e-copy of Trajectories and one for a $5 Amazon gift card. Put your preference in the comment. If you already own Trajectories but still would like some reading material, no worries. You can choose a free e-copy of Gathering Speed, Book Two of the Kitty Irish Trilogy, when it hits the stores in September.

Finally, check out JQ Rose, WS Gager, and Joselyn Vaughn for more great summer plans and giveaways! They are some very cool writers for these hot summer days.

16 thoughts on “Kickoff to Summer Blog Hop

  1. I definitely hope to spend some time at the beach. Even though that mean slathering the kids with sunscreen, one of my least favorite liquids.

  2. Hello Tess!
    Right now our summer vacation has already been underway a couple weeks. This past weekend we took the kids to the drive-in- a first for them and for me and it was a lot of fun and a lot cheaper than going to an indoor theater. Later this week hubby and I will be celebrating our 10th anniversary and sometime later this month my daughter and I will be going up to my hometown to visit with my parents, sister, friends and other relatives for a week or so.

    We usually always have a gathering of my family on my mom’s side for the 4th of July with my dad’s awesome burgers and then watching the hometown fireworks with my best friend and her family in their driveway.

    I’m not sure yet if hubby and I will get our fishing license like last summer, but the kids (for all their complaints last time) seem enthused about the idea of going fishing again so we might find some lazy body of water to cast our lines into and we’ve discussed the possibility of a day at the zoo or visiting the Salato Wildlife Center so the kids can learn about plants and animals native to Kentucky. (was always a favorite field trip place to go when I was growing up.)

    Trajectories is on my wishlist on Amazon, so that would be my choice if I win. 😉

    Have a great summer!

    • We’re heading out for a camping adventure this weekend..I say adventure because 4 grandsons are going with us! That’s a real kickoff to summer, eh? I’ll be ready for the hammock next week!

  3. Oh, I’d love to win a copy of Trajectories–and I’m planning on reading, writing and repeating those two all summer long–no time to garden this year, sigh, but we’re having a wet, cold summer so far, not good for my favorites, tomatoes.

  4. I want to read, read, read all summer! I’m hawking an anthology that is free this weekend called The Corner Cafe – tasty treats. I have a short story in it. The book is an experiement to see if an anthology will help sell books. We all are keeping track of stats, etc. If you want to look at some different authors, check this out on Saturday and Sunday. http://www.amzn.to/CornerCafe
    Wendy
    W.S. Gager on Writing

  5. Nice post! I’ve eaten some of the veggies from your garden, and they were delicious! I can’t grow plants, though. Good luck with your projects! I’d love to read Trajectories.

  6. Congratulations to the winners, Patricia Kiyono and Taryn Raye! I’ll be emailing you shortly with the scoop. Thanks to you to everyone who participated in the Kickoff hop with us!

Leave a Reply

