The toe bone is connected to the…it is?

In honor of Halloween and forensic anthropologists everywhere, I started out to do an anatomically correct version of the song, “Dry Bones.” (I know it’s a little lame, but believe me, anthropologists would love it.)  You know the one I mean–the toe bone’s connected to the heel bone. The heel bone’s connected to the foot bone. Yeah, that one.

I read the first line and realized I was in trouble. I would ignore the toe bone (wiggle your toes–there is more than one) and go straight to the heel bone. But what is this mystery foot bone and how does it connect to the heel bone? It could be the talus. According to the song, it should connect to the leg bone. The talus does connect (and that should be articulates, not connects) to the leg bone. The only problem is there isn’t one leg bone but two–the tibia and fibula. Later on, this guy has his thigh bone connected to his back bone. Yikes! Where are this poor man’s hips?

I have come to the conclusion that I cannot make this skeleton anatomically correct in one blog post. With a white board and a few diagrams, perhaps, but not here. All in all, maybe it doesn’t matter too much. As we strolled around last night, we saw a one-legged skeleton hanging from a tree. After some discussion, we decided it was the skeleton of one of the monopods from C.S. Lewis’ Voyage of the Dawn Treader. It’s all in keeping with the season.

I did have a fabulous Halloween. My kids gave up Almond Joys to make it so. How was yours?

7 thoughts on “The toe bone is connected to the…it is?

  1. I’ll never hear this song the same way, again. Great post.
    Halloween? We don’t do it here on the old folks ranch. I had sushi with friends and chocolate for dessert. I like being an old(er) folk.

  2. Great post! I can see why the song, as it’s usually sung, would be annoying to you. Halloween night was quiet. Only a dozen trick or treaters and me trying to finish a Christmas story. Sushi and chocolate would have been a great way to end the day!

    • Mine too! I I love to see them so excited. When my oldest was small and we took her out she was just amazed by the whole thing. She turned to me and said, “I love Halloween. People are so nice. They give out candy for no reason at all!”

Leave a Reply

