Teen Tuesday–Hearing from Tomorrow’s Writers Today

It’s Tuesday! Welcome again to Teen Tuesday where we listen to the voice of one of tomorrow’s writers today. Before we begin, I need to start with some housekeeping…if you’re a young writer and want to be featured on Teen Tuesday, give me a shout out at tessgrantwrites@gmail.com. I keep it anonymous and get parent approval. I’d love to hear from YOU!

Today, we read a sample from J. J is 19 and attends a small private college in the Midwest where she studies communications and psychology. This is J’s current WIP; she has been working on it for about a year. She writes for her own entertainment, but if someone wants to make her famous, she’ll accept that too. 🙂

* * *

      It burned like fire.  Hot and uncomfortable.  It was weak at first but grew stronger every second.  It pushed through his body starting at the tips of his fingers and toes, and made its way to his heart, burning fiercely. The man fell to his knees in pain, tears slowly slipping down his face. The fire had reached his heart now. It was like every emotion he had ever felt, tried to feel, and some he knew he never had, was being forced to the small space of his heart. The flame exploded and took over his body. He cried out, but his plea was never answered.
             Ice. Frozen crystals pierced his heart and replaced the blaze. A storm of new emotions flooded his soul. He sat up slowly, shivering, the blanket of ice gently being stripped off.

                “Can I just have a key, please,” Lucy extended her hand over the desk. “You know me. I’m here all the time. It shouldn’t be a big deal.” She gave the nurse a flash of a white smile.
                The nurse just blinked up through her glasses at Lucy. “I’m sorry miss, but we have protocol. You can’t just walk into hospital wing 3 like you own the place.”  She sounded so mechanical. Then again it was the third time Lucy had asked her for a key.
            Lucy shook her head. “Gina, Gina, Gina. We have known each other for how long now and you still call me miss?  You just don’t understand do you? I am your most loyal benefactor and benefactors deserve keys, and to be called by their actual name.”
            Gina’s frown matched Lucy’s. “Isn’t it your father that pays miss?”
            “That is a technicality that you do not need to concern yourself with. You still get the pay checks don’t you?” Gina opened her mouth to say something. “No, No. I’m right.” Lucy continued. “You get pay checks. And big ones no doubt, from what I hear we pay. Oh and by the way, my name is Lucy. You know this. I have to sign it every day I come here. And you know why? Cause I don’t have a key.”

* * *

I think Lucy’s attitude bounces off the page here. I especially like those last two lines. Let’s hear it for J.

3 thoughts on “Teen Tuesday–Hearing from Tomorrow’s Writers Today

Leave a comment